The South Asian Times

16 December 2019 07:59 AM

H. Singh and Eric Kumar in de Blasio's inauguration team

New York: One month before the January 1 date when he’ll take the oath of office, NYC Mayor-Elect Bill de Blasio announced his inaugural committee, a list of names “from all five boroughs, every community and every walk of life,” as his transition team put it in a press release.

The Indian American community can take pride  in  their representation as Harendra Singh, founder of Singh  Hospitality Group, and Eric Kumar, President of United Indian National Overseas Congress  and Co-chair for South Asians for de Blasio, will serve on the inaugural committee along with celebrities like Harry  Belafonte,  Susan Sarandon and Sarah Jessica Parker to plan celebrations in all of the five NYC boroughs.

The other two of the four Indian Americans on the inauguration team are: Arun Govil, President, Ducon Technologies Inc. and Rajiv Sharma, Owner, Pranna.

The Mayor-elect also named his first deputy in Anthony E. Shorris, a former executive director of the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey. He also selected William Bratton as police commissioner. Bratton first served as NYPD commissioner under Mayor Giuliani.

Update: 06 Dec, 2013