The South Asian Times

27 May 2018 19:44 PM

Palaniswami to retain finance in 31-member ministry


Chennai, Feb 16: Tamil Nadu's Chief Minister-designate Edappadi K. Palaniswami will head a 31-member ministry.

Palaniswami has retained the crucial finance portfolio with himself. He also retained the portfolios of Public Works, Highways and Minor Ports that he had held in the earlier O. Panneerselvam ministry.

In a statement issued here, the Raj Bhavan said Palaniswami will look after Public, Indian Administrative Service, Indian Police Service, Indian Forest Service, General Administration, District Revenue Officers, Police and Home, Finance Planning, Legislative Assembly Elections and Passports, Personnel and Administrative Reforms Personnel and Administrative Reforms (Training), Public Works, Irrigation including Minor Irrigation, Programme Works, Highways and Minor Ports.

Senior party leaders C. Sreenivasan and K.A. Sengottaiyan have been designated as Minister for Forests and Minister for School Education and Sports and Youth Welfare.

P. Thangamani is designated as Minister for Electricity, Prohibition and Excise.

The swearing in will be at 4.30 p.m., said Raj Bhavan.

Update: 16 Feb, 2017


Red Baraat Neighborhood Concert