The South Asian Times

20 February 2019 10:44 AM

Diwali holiday for 7 school districts in NY

Seven school districts in New York state will reportedly stay closed on November seven, the day of most popular Hindu festival Diwali; while another one has announced “student recess” on November seven.

Schools in East Meadow School District (Westbury), East Williston Union Free School District (Old Westbury), Half Hollow Hills Central School District (Dix Hills), Herricks Public Schools (New Hyde Park), Hicksville Public Schools (Hicksville), Jericho School District (Jericho), Syosset Central School District (Syosset), will stay closed on November seven (Diwali day); while Port Washington Union Free School District (Port Washington) has announced “student recess” on November seven; reports suggest.

Hindu statesman Rajan Zed, who has been actively supporting inclusion of Diwali holiday in New York state schools, in a press statement said closing schools on Diwali day by these New York school districts is “a step in the positive direction.” He urged all public school districts and private-charter-independent schools in New York state to close on Diwali; as it was important to meet the religious and spiritual needs of Hindu pupils.

Rajan Zed urged New York Governor Andrew M. Cuomo, New York State Education Department Board of Regents Chancellor Betty A. Rosa and New York State Commissioner of Education MaryEllen Elia to work towards adding Diwali as an official holiday in all the 733 public school districts, and persuading the private-charter-independent schools to follow.

Update: 07 July, 2018