The South Asian Times

24 August 2019 12:36 PM

IALI hosts annual gala dinner


India Association of Long Island celebrated Annual Fundraising Gala Dinner on June 30th, 2019 at Marriott, Long Island. The function was attended by about 270 guests. India Association of Long Island is a 41-year-old non-profit organization with more than 2300 members and still growing. 

Reception committee under the leadership of treasurer Rajeev Chaudhary and event advisor Mrs. Jyoti Gupta extended a warm welcome to all the guests. The program started with cocktail hours followed by a grand entry of the president and all the honorees in the banquet hall.

After all the guests were seated comfortably, emcee Indu Gajwani, cultural chair,  invited two talented artists Khushi and Jigna Oza to perform Ganesh Vandana. Introduction of president Lalit Aery was done by emcee and he was called for his speech. In his speech, he mentioned about the forum doing excellent job and thanked all the chair persons for their good work. 

Senators Anna Kaplan and Kevin Thomas graced the occasion and gave citations to all five honorees. Chairman of Human Rights Commission Bobby Kalotee and Nassau County Human Rights Commissioner Zahid Syed also attended the event. The honorees Mrs. Indu Chhabra, Dr Vijay Rasquinha, Dr Gopal Kishore, Mr. Jasbir Jay Singh and Mrs. Anupam Goenka were given citations. All the special guests and honorees were honored with plaque and a beautiful scarf by IALI officers and executive committee.

IALI launched membership card to IALI members which was sponsored by Gary Sikka (Mint Restaurant), Dilip Bansal (India Visa Center), Mr. Batra (Batra Travels) and Sumit Verma (Hicksville Optical). At the launch Indu Gajwani called Naveen Shah and Madhu Pareek from Navika Group and all the past presidents of IALI on the stage to come and cut the ribbon of the box and present card to all the officers.

Bollywood celebrity star Jinal Pandya was a special guest at gala dinner. She performed two dances and asked the audience to join on the dance floor.  The vote of thanks was given by the secretary Govind Gupta
25 to 7

Update: 14 July, 2019