119 presented Padma awards: Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj, Karan Johar, Kangana Ranaut, among honorees

Filmmaker Karan Johar, producer Ekta Kapoor, actor Kangana Ranaut, and singer Adnan Sami received Padma Shri today at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi. They were honored by President Ram Nath Kovind. Padma Shri is the fourth highest civilian award in India after Bharat Ratna, Padma Vibhushan and Padma Bhushan. 

Other recipients of the Padma Shri include late singer SP Balasubramaniam. 

Earlier, Karan Johar took to Twitter to share the news and express his gratitude. “It’s not very often that I am at a loss for words, but this is one such occasion…The Padma Shri. Such an honor to receive one of the civilian awards in the country. Overwhelmed by so many emotions right now. Humbled, elated and also thankful for the opportunity to live my dream every day, to create and to entertain. I know my father would be proud and I wish he was here to share this moment with me. #blessed,” the filmmaker wrote. 

About her winning the Padma Shri, Kangana said, “I have always been honored as an artiste but this time, I have also been recognized as a citizen and for my awareness towards the country. This is special for me.” 

Producer Ekta Kapoor wrote on Twitter, “Humbled and overwhelmed. My foray into the industry started when I was just 17. I constantly heard I was ‘too young’, ‘too raw’ and it was ‘too soon’ to make things happen. Through the years I’ve realized it’s never ‘too soon’ to live out your dreams and being ‘too young’ is probably the best thing. Today, as I’m conferred with the 4th highest civilian honor- ‘Padmashri’, I’m humbled.” 

119 Padma Awards were presented by the President this year. The list comprises seven Padma Vibhushan, 10 Padma Bhushan and 102 Padma Shri Awards. 29 of the awardees are women, 16 Posthumous awardees and one transgender awardee. 

Image courtesy of ANI

Share this post