AAP wins civic polls, unseats BJP in Delhi after 15 years

New Delhi: The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on December 7 won the prestigious battle for the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD), ending the 15 year-rule of the BJP.

The Aam Aadmi Party has won in 134 wards, the BJP in 104, and the Congress in nine. Independents have won in three.

Addressing supporters at the party office in Delhi, chief Arvind Kejriwal said he would try to live up to people’s expectations and urged all parties to come together to improve Delhi.

“We have to improve the condition of Delhi (for which we) need the cooperation of the BJP, the Congress and also blessings of the Centre and the prime minister,” he said.

The MCD election 2022 was a tri-cornered fight between the AAP, the BJP and the Congress. The exit poll result for the MCD election 2022 and most of them had  predicted a landslide victory for the Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP.

Delhi Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia alleged that the BJP was trying to poach newly-elected AAP councilors and asserted that none of them will fall prey to their “game”.

He said the newly elected councilors have been instructed to record “such phone calls” in case they receive one.

“The BJP has covered Delhi in garbage, it’ll be cleaned and Arvind Kejriwal’s government will be formed in MCD. People of Delhi had decided to bring AAP in MCD so that Delhi becomes clean and beautiful,” Kejriwal said.

MCD gets its 1st transgender councilor

The Municipal Corporation of Delhi got its first transgender councilor after AAP’s Bobby Kinnar won the civic polls from Sultanpuri-A ward.

Bobby(38) was given a ticket from Sultanpuri A (ward 43) seat. She has been associated with AAP since the Anna movement and later when the party was formed. Earlier, Bobby had contested the civic polls in 2017 as an independent candidate.

While campaigning for the polls, the AAP candidate had promised to take the Kejriwal government’s work to the public and work towards ending corruption if she becomes a councilor.

Bobby is also the president ‘Hindu Yuva Samaj Ekta Awam Anti-Terrorism Committee’ Delhi unit. She has been associated with this organization for the last 15 years.

Image courtesy of (Photo: indiatvnews.com)

Share this post