Achievers creates history in IPA polo calendar 2022-23

ACHIEVERS Polo Team based at Jaipur has created history in 2022-23 Indian Polo Season by winning eighteen tournaments out of 24 played as part of the Indian Polo Association polo calendar 2022-23.

Jaipur Open Championship 2023

Achievers Team became the only team in Indian Polo history to win the Indian Open National Championship consecutively for five years, having won in the year 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, and now in 2022-23.

Indian Open National Championship 2019

No other team in Indian Polo History had previously achieved this success rate for five years consecutively. In fact, Achievers this year has improved its own record set last season.

Indian Open National Championship 2020

The only other team that comes close in terms of performance and results to this team is the famous “Jaipur Tigers” led by Late His Highness Maharaja Sawai Man Singh II of Jaipur in 1932-33 polo season where the team won most of the leading Polo Tournaments in India and abroad. 

The team won all three open tournaments played this season namely Indian Open National Championship, Northern India Open Championship, and Jaipur Open Championship and also had the distinct privilege of winning most of the leading tournaments at Delhi, Jaipur, Jodhpur, and Mumbai

Indian Open Championship is the National Championship of Polo and every Indian Polo Player dreams to win it.

This year, the team had amongst its ranks Indian Polo Captain – Shamsheer Ali who was part of the Achievers team in most tournaments. The other star player was South African polo wizard – Chris Mackenzie. Other prominent players of the team this season included Daniel Otamendi, Siddhant Sharma, Kuldeep Singh Rathore, Dhruvpal Godara, Hurr Ali, Himmat Bedla, Vishwarupe Bajaj and Dino Dhankar.

Achievers Polo Team is co-owned by Parul Rai from Delhi and Vikram Rathore, Ambassador from India to the International Polo Federation, based in Jaipur.

Few of the future stars of Indian polo scene promoted by Achievers include HH Maharaja Sawai Padmanabh Singh of Jaipur, Shamsher Ali, Kuldeep Singh Rathore,  Siddhant Sharma, Hurr Ali,  Vishwarupe Bajaj, and Dino Dhankar.

Northern India Open Championship 2023

The team won Seven of the Eight tournaments organised in Delhi, All three tournaments each organised in Mumbai and Jodhpur and Five of the ten tournaments organised at Jaipur as part of the Indian Polo Association Calendar season that lasts over six months and has twenty four tournaments played over twenty four weeks. Achievers team had the privilege of winning Five of the Six High Goal tournaments organised across India.

Indian Open National Championship 2021

Achievers Polo Team is based at Mundota Palace, Jaipur and has its own polo grounds, practise arena, schooling arenas, Eighty stables and over two dozen imported polo ponies from Argentina and England. Mundota Fort and Palace near Jaipur is India’s only luxury heritage polo resort. It has polo training and coaching facilities with in-house professionals throughout the year. 


Indian Polo Season 2022-23 for Achievers at a glance

Tournaments Played                                   24 Tournaments

Finals                                                             21 Tournaments

Won                                                               18 Tournaments

Runner ups                                                   03 Tournaments

Vikram Rathore, Co-Owner

Team strategy and the choosing of the right players with hunger to excel, giving their hundred percent to win is the secret behind this resounding success of the team.

Parul Rai, Co-Owner

The right selection of the horses and players for our level of polo and fast improving playing conditions in India helped us tremendously to win and better our performance over the last decade.

Images courtesy of Courtesy: Provided/ Raj Kumar Singh, RAJKUMAR SINGH and Provided/ Raj Kumar Singh

Share this post