Community celebrates Jharkhand Diwas, honors NRIs with Jharkhand Gaurav Awards

New York: The Consulate General of India, New York in association with Bihar Jharkhand Association of North America celebrated the 23rd Sthapna Divas of Jharkhand on November 15. It was also observed as JanJaatiya Gaurav Diwas and Bhagwan Birsa Munda’s birthday.

Over 100 people attended the event at the consulate. The event showcased Jharkhand’s traditional arts, culture and heritage. Children and women presented songs and dances featuring traditions of Jharkhand. 

 On the occasion, Consul General Randhir Jaiswal reminisced about his early education in Ranchi and his connection with India’s national game hockey. BJANA president Anurag Kumar exhorted everyone to visit Jharkhand’s tourist places during their next visit to India. 

Sharla Birla University’s Vice-Chancellor Dr Gopal Pathak’s video message was played during the event. He praised the noble work done by BJANA in various fields. 

Sanjeev Singh, president-elect of BJANA introduced the three recipients of the Jharkhand Gaurav Award to mark this day. Dr. Bhola Nath Rama, a cardiologist from Ohio who hails from Rewa village in Khunti and his “Bhola and Sunita Rama foundation” has adopted his village to finance poor and deserving students to finish their higher education. 

Dr Ratnabali Ranjan from Portland, Oregon, a pediatrician who along with her husband Dr Dinesh Ranjan, a liver transplant surgeon and Dr Geeta Gupta, an internist founded and run PRAN-BJANA medical group that runs charitable clinics and healthcare camps in remote villages of Bihar and Jharkhand. 

Dr Avinash Gupta, a cardiologist from New Jersey who hails from Lapung block of Ranchi has devoted his life to community service and has led several nonprofit organizations, BJANA, and MOCAAPI. He is currently chairman of Shree Siddhivinayak Temple, Indian Cultural Community Center in Toms River, chief of cardiology and president of medical staff of Monmouth Medical Center-Southern Campus and a member of Ocean County Board of health. He has been elected President of the Federation of Indian Associations for the year 2024. 

Image courtesy of thesatimes |

Share this post