Four from the USA named for Padma Awards 2020

Padma Bhushan for marketing guru Prof Jagdish Sheth

New York: Boston’s S P Kothari and three other Americans were named for Padma Shri by the Indian government with India American Prof Jagdish Sheth being chosen for Padma Bhushan.

Kothari is the Gordon Y. Billard Professor of Management and former deputy dean at MIT’s Sloan School of Management. Last year, Prof. Kothari was appointed chief economist and director of the Division of Economic and Risk Analysis at the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

Along with Prof. Kothari, three other Americans will receive the award: Prasanta Kumar Pattanaik, emeritus professor at the Department of Economics at the University of California; Robert Thurman, Buddhist author and academic who has written, edited, and translated several books on Tibetan Buddhism; and Romesh Tekchand Wadhwani, chairman and CEO of Symphony Technology Group.

Jagdish Sheth, the Charles H. Kellstadt Professor of Marketing at the Goizueta Business School of Emory University, will receive Padma Bhushan award. He is known best for his scholarly contributions in consumer psychology, relationship marketing, competitive strategy, and geopolitical analysis.

A total of 14 foreigners, the majority of them of the Indian origin, including Mauritian politician Anerood Jugnauth, were named for the Padma Awards on the eve of 71st Republic Day for 2020.

Jugnauth has been named for Padma Vibhushan, the second-highest civilian award, in the field of public affairs. Jugnauth, who served as the President and the Prime Minister of Mauritius, was a central figure in Mauritian politics in the 1980s and 1990s.

Former Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar (posthumous), leading industrialists Anand Mahindra and Venu Srinivasan along with 13 others have been selected for the Padma Bhushan awards.

Shuttler P V Sindhu is the only player to get the Padma Bhushan Award this year.

Name of former Nagaland Chief Minister S.C. Jamir also featured on the list of the Padma Bhushan awardees this year.

Jamir, who served as the Governor of Odisha, Maharashtra, Gujarat and Goa, was one of the signatories of the 16-Point Agreement which brought about the creation of Nagaland state. Jamir is considered one of the architects of modern Nagaland.

Besides Jamir, the list also included the names of former Jammu and Kashmir Deputy Chief Minister Syed Muzaffar Hussain Baig, a People’s Democratic Party (PDP) leader and Ladakh-based gynecologist Tsering Landol.

Landol, who was conferred with the Padma Shri in 2006, is an Indian gynecologist and one of the pioneers of women’s health in Ladakh region. She was the first woman doctor from Ladakh to receive the Padma Shri award in 2006.

Spiritual teacher Sri M. Mumtaz Ali, Ajoy Chakravorty (Art), Manoj Das (Literature and Education), Balkrishna Doshi (architecture), social workers Krishnammal Jagannathan and Anil Prakash Joshi also figure on the list of Padma Bhushan awardees.

Renowned academic and father of modern legal education in India, Dr. Neelakanta Ramakrishna Madhava Menon (posthumous) also figured on the list.

Image courtesy of thesatimes | Welcome to The South Asian Times

Share this post