Four Indian Americans to be appointed to President’s Advisory Commission

Ajay Bhutoria, Kamal Kalsi, Sonal Shah, and Smita N. Shah have been named by the White House

Washington DC: President Biden on December 20 announced his intent to appoint commissioners to the President’s Advisory Commission on Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders. Four Indian American civic leaders are among those named by the White House.

The Commission will advise the president on ways the public, private, and non-profit sectors can work together to advance equity and opportunity for every Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander community. The four Indian Americans to be appointed commissioners, according to a White House press statement, are – Ajay Bhutoria, Kamal Kalsi, Sonal Shah, and Smita N. Shah.

The Initiative by White House is aimed to focus on helping to coordinate a comprehensive federal response to the rise in acts of anti-Asian bias and violence; address the systemic lack of disaggregated data on AA and NHPI communities; expand language access and language assistance programs for AA and NHPI individuals across federal programs; address educational, health, economic, and housing disparities impacting AA and NHPI communities, among others.

Image courtesy of (Image: TSAT)

Share this post