GAPIO holds 2021 Global Indian Physicians Congress

New Jersey: The Global Association of Physicians of Indian Origin (GAPIO) held its 2021 Global Indian Physicians Congress on Feb 27-28.

In a video message, Indian minister of Health & Family Welfare, Science & Technology, Earth Sciences Dr. Harsh Vardhan praised GAPIO, as a shining example of the talent and caliber of Indian physicians who have made remarkable contributions in various fields of medicine across the globe.

Since its inception in 2011 GAPIO has endeavored to bring 1.4 million physicians of Indian origin across the world on a single platform to facilitate the exchange of knowledge, skills and research.

Praising the contribution of medical professionals in the fight against the COVID-19 pandemic, Dr Harsh Vardhan said, “As the world faced the unprecedented crisis of COVID19, it has been our doctors, nurses, and healthcare workers who have cemented their position as the foremost champions of humanity, saving humankind as it was staring at an existential crisis.” 

“I am so proud to be part of GAPIO, a great organization with the mission to bring together 1.4 million physicians of Indian origin on one professional platform,” said GAPIO Secretary General USA and Chairman and Publisher of Parikh World Wide Media and ITV Gold 24×7 TV Channel in the U.S., Padma Shri Dr. Sudhir Parikh, at the Congress. 

The GAPIO Congress featured highly qualified medical professionals and leaders from around the world, and an award ceremony for those who have excelled in their areas of expertise, including young physicians.

Founder President of GAPIO and Chairman Apollo Hospitals Group Dr. Prathap C Reddy, said, “The exemplary work by the awardees is an inspiration for others to emulate. The spirit of the physicians of Indian origin to excel in India and overseas is what we hope to recognize.
There are countless examples of pathbreaking work across the globe that would make every Indian proud.”

President of GAPIO and Group Medical Director, Apollo Hospitals Group and Senior Consultant Pediatric Gastroenterologist and Hepatologist Dr. Anupam Sibal, said, “From supporting liver transplantation to pioneering cardiac surgery to establishing high-end lab services to excelling in rheumatology to introducing geriatric care to performing complex arthroplasty in a rural setting, the awardees represent the spectrum of path-breaking achievements.

“Remarking on the young physician’s category, Vice President GAPIO and CEO cum Chairman of Columbia Asia Group of Hospitals Dr. Nandakumar Jairam, said, “The awardees in the Young category represent the aspirations of the Young Indian Physician who is willing to take on challenges to improve the delivery of care, while excelling in academics and research.”

“In the coming year our activities will be enhanced to build a stronger well-connected physician community,” Dr. Parikh said.

The award winners in the Distinguished Category, each of whom receives Rs. 100,000, a citation, and a trophy include: Pravin Agarwal (Pravin Agarwal Foundation) for Dr. Prathap C Reddy Philanthropy award; Rohini Handa for the Dr. IA Modi Award; Navin Dang for GAPIO Excellence in Diagnostics Award;  Maligail Ramkrishna Girinath for GAPIO Karl Storz Surgical Excellence Award;  VS Natarajan for GAPIO Lifetime achievement award.
Dr. Madan Mohan Reddy received the GAPIO Special Appreciation Award for his pathbreaking work in delivering orthopedic care including joint replacements in villages.


Image courtesy of (Image provided)

Share this post