Historic Major League Cricket 2023 to take off at Grand Prairie Stadium

Dallas, Texas: Grand Prairie Stadium on July 12 announced its grand reopening as a state-of-the-art cricket venue, set to host world-class cricket later this week. After undergoing extensive renovations, the stadium is now ready to host Major League Cricket (MLC) matches, attracting cricket enthusiasts and fans from across the nation. 

The official ribbon-cutting ceremony featured guests from the City of Grand Prairie, Major League Cricket and the local cricket community. Ceremonial remarks were made by the Mayor of Grand Prairie, Ron Jensen, MLC Co-Founder Vijay Srinivasan, Michelle Madden from the Grand Prairie Chamber of Commerce, and Mary Dominguez Santini from the Hispanic Chamber of Commerce. Together, they marked the occasion by officially cutting the ribbon at Grand Prairie Stadium, symbolizing that the gates are ready to open for Thursday’s Opening Night match between the Texas Super Kings and the Los Angeles Knight Riders.

Grand Prairie Stadium celebrates grand reopening as MLC venue

Prior to the ribbon-cutting, the speakers delivered brief remarks, expressing their excitement and gratitude for the successful completion of this vision. They touched on the potential of the stadium to promote cricket within the region, along with bringing the city of Grand Prairie to the global sporting stage – hosting premier events in the world’s second most popular sport. 

“Grand Prairie has taken a real leap of faith, embracing the spirit of innovation and diversity that defines our great nation,” said Vijay Srinivasan, MLC Co-founder. “There are hundreds of thousands of fans here in Texas who love cricket, and billions more worldwide: together, we’ve built a world-class home in America for the world’s second most popular sport, one local residents will embrace and draw fans from across the globe.” 

All six teams comprising some of the major cricket players and local American talents would play 18 games, leading up to the first-ever championship final on July 30. 

Eleven matches will take place at Grand Prairie Stadium near Dallas in Texas, while seven games are scheduled to take place at Church Street Park in North Carolina. 

The six teams are Los Angeles Knight Riders, MI New York, San Francisco Unicorns, Seattle Orcas, Texas Super Kings and Washington Freedom.
Most of the teams are owned by Indian Americans who are venture capitalists, in the IT and start-up sector. 

Star players set to take part include Afghanistan T20 captain Rashid Khan, South African internationals Faf du Plessis, Quinton de Kock and David Miller, West Indians Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell and Dwayne Bravo, Australians Marcus Stoinis and Aaron Finch, England’s Jason Roy and Liam Plunkett, Sri Lankan Dasun Shanaka and New Zealand’s Trent Boult. 

Ahead of the start of the games, Sameer Mehta, co-founder of Major League Cricket said fans will experience an unforgettable night for cricket in America, with a full house welcoming the world’s top players to Grand Prairie Stadium for the opening match. 

“Since we arrived in Texas, it’s been incredible to see the support for the Texas Super Kings. 

Images courtesy of Twitter/MLC and majorleaguecricket.com

Share this post