In a retaliatory move, Russia closes airspace for 36 countries

New Delhi: Russia announced that it is closing its airspace to 36 other countries in a retaliatory move.

All 27 European Union nations, as well as the UK and Canada, who have already closed their own airspace to Russian aircraft, were affected by the ban.

Neither Russian aviation authority Rosaviatsiya nor any of the Western countries have offered a timeline as to when the ban might end. The effect on commercial airlines is expected to be significant, as Russian airspace is the main corridor of travel between Europe and East Asia.

The UK became the first country to ban Russian planes from its airspace last week after the Russian army invaded Ukraine. Exceptions to the bans will be made for humanitarian aid or diplomatic missions.

In the latest move joining his allies, United States President Joe Biden also announced closing US airspace to all Russian flights, saying that Moscow will be weaker by the end of its war against Ukraine.

“Tonight, I’m announcing that we will join our allies in closing off American airspace to all Russian flights, further isolating Russia and adding an additional squeeze on their economy,” Biden said. “He has no idea what’s coming.

Image courtesy of (Photo courtesy: Warsaw Institute)

Share this post