India bag T20I series against Australia 4-1

Bengaluru: A brilliant comeback by pacer Arshdeep Singh, who defended nine runs in the final over, after a superb half-century by Shreyas Iyer and late hitting by Axar Patel helped India beat Australia by six runs in the fifth and final T20I match and win the series 4-1 at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium here.

Arshdeep, who had conceded 37 runs in three overs, bounced back brilliantly and gave away just three runs while claiming the wicket of Australia skipper Matthew Wade as India sealed a dramatic victory.

Chasing a modest target of 160, Australia were in cruise mode at 128/5 in the 17th over. However, the Indians fought back brilliantly thanks to some brilliant bowling as they conceded just 38 runs for three wickets in the last five overs to restrict Australia to 154/8 in 20 overs. At the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, 160 is the lowest total defended by a team in T20I cricket.

India were off to a good start with the ball as they reduced the visitors to 55/3 in the seventh over, sending back Josh Phillips (4), Travis Head (28) and Aaron Hardie (5) cheaply.

Ben McDermott, who waged a lone battle and hammered a 36-ball 54, hitting five maximums, added 47 runs for the fourth wicket with Tim David (17). But the Indian bowlers were not done yet and fought back bravely to trigger a collapse.

Matthew Short (16) and skipper Matthew Wade (22) put up some resistance but in the end they fell short against the clinical Indian bowling.

For India, Mukesh Kumar claimed 3-32 while Ravi Bishnoi (2-29) and Arshdeep Singh (2-40) claimed a brace apiece.

Axar Patel, hero of India’s victory in the fourth match, bowled brilliantly in the middle overs again, tying the batters into knots as the left-arm spinner finished with 1-14 in his four overs.

Earlier, Shreyas Iyer struck a 37-ball 53 to help India post a modest 160/8 after being asked to bat first by Wade.

T20I: Joy for Pak with historic New Zealand series triumph

Dunedin: Pakistan have broken a drought of more than five years and created their own piece of history with an impressive 10-run victory over New Zealand in the second T20I of their series here.

The much-improved Pakistan side amassed a competitive total of 137/6 from their 20 overs and bowled well to restrict the hosts and register a series-clinching victory, reports ICC.

It was the first time Pakistan won a T20I series against the White Ferns in their history, while it was also their first T20I series triumph away from home since they defeated Bangladesh in October 2018.

And it was a much-deserved victory too, with the visitors receiving good contributions with the bat from Muneeba Ali (35), Aliya Riaz (32*) and former captain Bismah Maroof (21) as they amassed a good total after being sent into bat by the Kiwis.

Left-arm spinner Sadia Iqbal then removed Bernadine Bezuidenhout (2) and Amelia Kerr (2) to help reduce New Zealand to 9/2 in reply and there was no way back for the hosts as Pakistan cruised home with little trouble.

Fatima Sana (3/22) was the pick of the Pakistan bowlers, while Hannah Rowe top-scored for the home side with a well-compiled 33.

Image courtesy of News18

Share this post