Indo American Press Club holds virtual induction ceremony

By Ajay Ghosh

New York, NY: During a solemn virtual ceremony live telecast on social media and viewed by thousands from around the world, Dr. Joseph M. Chalil assumed charge as the Chairman, while Dr. S S Lal as the President of Indo American Press Club on June 28th, 2020. Also, along with the two dynamic leaders, several new members of the Board of Directors, Executive Committee members, and Local Chapter leadership were administered the oath of office.

Several world-renowned media personnel felicitated the new officers as IAPC, the largest Indian American Association of Media Personnel begins a new journey under the stewardship of two great leaders well known for their commitment and leadership.

Ginsmon Zachariah, the Founding Chairman of IAPC administered the oath of office to Dr. Chalil, along with 3 new members to the Board of Directors: Mathewkutty Easow, Mini Nair & Thampanoor Mohan. Ajay Ghosh, the Founding President of IAPC introduced Dr. Chalil as the Co-founder and Publisher of The Universal News Network. Dr. Chalil is an Adjunct Professor and author of several scientific and research papers in international publications. A veteran of the U.S. Navy Medical Corps, Dr. Chalil is board certified in healthcare management and has been awarded Fellowship by the American College of Healthcare Executives. Dr. Chalil holds several US patents, and his research includes Clinical Trial Management in Cystic Fibrosis, Food Allergy, Multiple Myeloma.

In his acceptance speech, Dr. Chalil said, “Your choice humbles me, and I promise to do my duties with the best of my abilities.” Describing the current phase in human history as “unprecedented times for the journalists and the media,” he pointed out that “At least 146 journalists have died from coronavirus in 31 countries.”

“The safety of media workers is particularly at risk in this crisis because you must continue to provide information on the ground and report news by visiting hospitals, interviewing politicians, doctors, nurses, and patients. IAPC offers condolences to families and colleagues of the deceased,” Dr. Chalil, who is a physician by profession said.  “In this pandemic, the significance of traditional media is all the more important to provide fair, balanced, and UpToDate information to the population. You are all the HEROS similar to the doctors and nurses in this war against the COVID-19.”

The new Executive Committee led by Dr. S S Lal, Annie Koshy, C G Daniel, James Kureekattil, Prakash Joseph, Sunil Manjanikara, Biju Chacko, Andrews Jacob, Raj Dingra, Annie Chandran, Neethu Thomas, Innocent Ulahannan, Baiju Pakalomattom, O. K. Thyagarajan, Shiby Roy and  Korasan Varghese was administered the oath of office by Chairman Dr. Joseph M Chalil.

Dr. S. S. Lal was introduced by Reji Philip, Treasurer of IAPC. In his Presidential address, Dr. Lal highlighted the importance of journalists and the need to coordinate and bring together journalists under one umbrella. “And it is the commitment and sacrifice of the leaders and members of this organization that has helped us build collaborations between the journalists and writers of the US and India,” Dr. Lal said.

Dr. Lal is a world-renowned health expert, columnist and guest speaker on various visual media. In 2013, he moved to Washington DC, to lead a global department of PATH, an American international health organization, in charge of the Department of Controlling contagious diseases (TB). Dr. Lal has been working for WHO in various countries, and has been instrumental in the setting up and management of its Global Fund at Geneva.

Ambassador Pradeep Kapur, now visiting professor at University of Maryland, in his keynote address stressed the importance of the media, especially in these challenging times as they work hard to bring the truth before the public. Dr. Shashi Tharoor, a Member of Indian Parliament, in his message stressed the importance of media and congratulated IAPC for its contributions to the society.

IAPC honored three Indian Americans for their excellence and contributions to the society. Bob Miglani was presented with the IAPC Literature Excellence Award by Dr. Mathew Joys, IAPC Vice Chairman BOD.  Badal Shah was given the IAPC Business Excellence Award by Biju Chacko, IAPC (EC) General Secretary. Ravinder Singh was honored with the IAPC Technology Excellence Award by Annie Koshy, Executive VP.

Parveen Chopra, a member of BOD introduced the office bearers of Toronto, Dallas and Philadelphia Chapters and Oath of Office was administered by Kamlesh Mehta, IAPC Director and Publisher of The South Asian Times.

New chapters were inducted from cities of Toronto, Niagara Falls, Philadelphia, Vancouver, Alberta, Houston, Dallas and Atlanta.

Amb. Pradeep Kapur

Dr.Joseph Chalil

Dr.Shashi Tharoor

Virtual induction ceremony via Zoom

Image courtesy of thesatimes |

Share this post