IPL 2022: Delhi Capitals thrash Rajasthan Royals

Navi Mumbai: Mitchell Marsh and David Warner put up a stand of 144 runs for the second wicket to power Delhi Capitals to a much-needed eight-wicket win over Rajasthan Royals at the DY Patil Stadium.

After Marsh along with Chetan Sakariya and Anrich Nortje took two wickets each in restricting Rajasthan to 160/6, he came out to lead the chase with a 62-ball 89 while Warner hanged around to play the anchor, remaining unbeaten on 52 off 41 balls.

For Rajasthan, Ravichandran Ashwin’s promotion to three resulted in his first IPL fifty while Devdutt Padikkal chipped in with 48. But with other batters unable to contribute much in the ending phase of the innings, Rajasthan were left with a total which was just par and was easily overhauled by Marsh-Warner show, who had luck on their side in crucial moments.

Rajasthan drew first blood when KS Bharat departed for duck on second ball, going for pull but edged behind to keeper off Trent Boult. Prasidh Krishna backed it up with a maiden over while finding some swing.

Warner and Marsh were cautious but started to open up when the latter hit Ashwin for a six over long-off. The duo took a four each off Boult before Marsh brought out an excellent pick-up shot off Krishna to clear backward square leg fence. Post power-play, he welcomed Kuldeep Sen with sixes over cow corner and down the ground.

Warner had three slices of luck in ninth over off Yuzvendra Chahal – a pulled six just cleared deep square leg, a miscued loft fell short of sliding long-off at 19 and on the last ball, ball brushed past leg-break with bails lighting up but weren’t separated.

After flicking Sen through square leg, Marsh reached his fifty in 38 balls with a loft down the ground off Chahal. He continued to make merry against pacers, slamming for back-to-back fours through backward point and backward square leg to keep Delhi in the driver’s seat.

IPL Points Table 2022


1 Gujarat Titans(GT) 12 9 3 0 +0.376 18
2 Lucknow Super Giants(LSG) 12 8 4 0 +0.385 16
3 Rajasthan Royals(RR) 12 7 5 0 +0.228 14
4 Royal Challengers Bangalore(RCB) 12 7 5 0 -0.115 14
5 Delhi Capitals(DC) 12 6 6 0 +0.210 12
6 Sunrisers Hyderabad(SRH) 11 5 6 0 -0.031 10
7 Kolkata Knight Riders(KKR) 12 5 7 0 -0.057 10
8 Punjab Kings(PBKS) 11 5 6 0 -0.231 10
9 Chennai Super Kings(CSK) 11 4 7 0 +0.028 8
10 Mumbai Indians(MI) 11 2 9 0 -0.894 4
Image courtesy of (News18)

Share this post