Kolkata civic elections: Trinamool registers landslide victory

Kolkata: After registering an unprecedented victory winning 133 of the 144 seats in the Kolkata Municipal Corporation election this week, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee congratulated the people saying that the city will only show the way to the people of the country.


The Trinamool Congress registered a historic victory in the KMC election, winning 134 of the 144 seats. In 2015, it had won 113 seats which was, so far, the highest in recent times, and this year it has broken its previous records turning the Opposition into minnows. All the 16 boroughs have been under the control of the Trinamool Congress.


BJP that – even before the Assembly polls – was aggressive enough to challenge the supremacy of Trinamool Congress has been successful in bagging only three seats followed by Congress and Left front that managed to get two seats each. The independent candidates got three seats.


In 2015, the ruling Trinamool Congress had won 113 seats – the highest margin then, while BJP had 7 seats and Congress and Left Front had 5 and 15 seats respectively. Three seats were won by the Independent candidates. This year, the ruling party improved its tally further.


Interacting with the media after the victory, the chief minister said: “This is a victory of the people who have given their mandate in favor of development. This is a victory of development that Trinamool Congress has been continuously doing since its inception to power in 2011”.


“People have come out wholeheartedly to vote. This is a victory for democracy. This will help to keep a low profile and humbly work for the people of the city as well as of the state,” the chief minister added.

Image courtesy of (Photo Courtesy: Deccan Herald)

Share this post