Now Google can translate into Sanskrit

San Francisco: Google has added 24 more languages to its Google Translate language-translation tool. Translate currently covers a total of 133 languages used around the world. New Indian languages being introduced include Assamese, Bhojpuri, Sanskrit, Dogri, Konkani, Meiteilon (Manipuri), Mizo, and Maithili.

Google is also adding Quechua (Peru, Bolivia, Ecuador), Guarani (Paraguay and Bolivia, Brazil and Argentina), and Aymara (Bolivia, Peru, and Chile) to the service for the first time, as well as an English-based Dialect Krio (Sierra Leone).

The list of languages also includes Ewe (Ghana and Tongo), Kurdish (Iraq), Sepedi (South Africa), Twi (Ghana), Oromo (Ethiopia and Kenya), Tsonga (Eswatini, South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Mozambique).

According to the company, more than 300 million people speak these languages as their first or second language. It further added that these languages are also the first ones added by Google utilizing a translation known as Zero-Shot Machine translation, a learning model that translates any text into another language by just viewing the texts.

These new languages, Google said, have been added using Zero-Shot Machine Translation, where a machine learning model only sees monolingual text. The Zero-Shot Machine Translation basically learns to translate into another language without ever seeing an example. “While this technology is impressive, it isn’t perfect,” Google said in an official blog post.

Image courtesy of (Image Courtesy: First Post)

Share this post