Opposition plans to meet next week on farmers issue

New Delhi: With the protesting farmers rejecting the government’s proposals on the farm laws, the opposition is planning to call a meeting of all political parties opposing the measures to devise a joint strategy to pressurise the government.

The opposition has claimed to have support of 25 political parties but on Tuesday, the delegation to meet the President comprised of only five people – Congress’ Rahul Gandhi, NCP supremo Sharad Pawar, CPI-M leader Sitaram Yechury, CPI’s D.Raja and DMK’s T.K.S. Elangovan – while most of the other opposition leaders were not in Delhi.

The opposition parties who have supported the farmers agitation include Congress, the Nationalist Congress Party, the Trinamool Congress, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi, the Shiv Sena, the Rashtriya Janata Dal, the Bahujan Samaj Party, the Samjawadi Party, the Rashtriya Loktantrik Party, the National Conference, the Rashtriya Lok Dal, the Janata Dal-Secular, the DMK, the Communist Party of India-Marxist, the Communist Party of India, the Revolutionary Socialist Party, the Forward Bloc and many other smaller parties.

Share this post