Pak EC issues non-bailable arrest warrant against Imran

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) issued a non-bailable arrest warrant against Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chairman Imran Khan, Pakistan-based Dawn reported. The ECP has asked Islamabad police chief to arrest and present him before it on July 25 in a contempt case.

On July 11, a four-member ECP bench headed by member Nisar Durrani ordered the release of a warrant for Imran’s arrest, after he did not appear before the commission, according to Dawn.

The ECP had started contempt proceedings against PTI Chairman Imran Khan, party leader Asad Umar and Pakistan’s Former Information Minister Fawad Chaudhry last year for allegedly using “intemperate” language against the chief election commissioner and the electoral watchdog.

The ECP had asked them to appear in person or through their counsels before to explain their position. However, the three leaders instead of appearing before the ECP challenged the electoral body’s notices and contempt proceedings in various high courts on the grounds that Section 10 of the Elections Act 2017, which is the statutory provision regarding the commission’s power to punish for contempt, was against the constitution.

The ECP had issued a warrant for Pakistan’s former PM Imran Khan’s arrest and stated that he was “required in the contempt of the commission’s proceedings initiated in terms of Section 10 of the Elections Act, 2017”.

Image courtesy of Twitter

Share this post