President Kovind confers 13 Shaurya Chakra awards

New Delhi: President Ram Nath Kovind conferred 13 Shaurya Chakra awards, including six posthumously, to armed forces personnel while Army Chief Gen Manoj Pande received the Param Vishisht Seva medal.

The Shaurya Chakra is India’s third-highest peacetime gallantry award after the Ashok Chakra and Kirti Chakra. The awards were conferred at a ceremony in Rashtrapati Bhavan.

The gallantry awards were given to the personnel for displaying conspicuous gallantry, indomitable courage, and extreme devotion to duty, said an official statement.

The six personnel, who were conferred the Shaurya Chakra posthumously, were Captain Ashutosh Kumar of the 18th Battalion of the Madras Regiment, Havildar Anil Kumar Tomar of the Rajput Regiment, Havildar Pinku Kumar of the Jat Regiment, Havildar Kashiray Bammanalli from the Corps of Engineers, Naib Subedar Sreejith from the 17th Battalion of Madras Regiment and Sepoy Maruprolu Jaswanth Kumar Reddy, also from the 17th Battalion of the Madras Regiment.

The President also conferred 14 Param Vishisht Seva Medals, four Uttam Yudh Seva Medals, and 24 Ati Vishisht Seva Medals for distinguished service of exceptional order, the statement said.

Image courtesy of (Photo courtesy: [email protected]

Share this post