Rahman, Mira Nair, Anupam in BAFTA Breakthrough India jury

Ten winners from the fields of television, films and games, selected by a jury including AR Rahman, Anupam Kher and Mira Nair, are to receive one-to-one mentoring and career guidance at the BAFTA Breakthrough India Initiative, besides full voting BAFTA membership and access to BAFTA events and networking opportunities, in the UK and internationally.

Artists from across the country had applied for the BAFTA (British Academy of Film and Television Arts) initiative.

Owing to the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic, the jury met virtually to decide the winners. The jury also included filmmaker-writer Shonali Bose, producer Siddharth Roy Kapur, former BAFTA Breakthrough and Games Producer Charu Desodt , BAFTA Chair and TV Producer Krishnendu Majumdar, VP, Content, Netflix India Monika Shergill.

Rahman said that he was honored to be part of this panel.

“BAFTA is a platform where artistes from around the world, including the best from India, are represented and celebrated, and it’s my honor to be a part of its Breakthrough India jury,” he said.

“India has one of the most fascinating creative industries and is home to so many talented film, games and television practitioners. We are so excited to be supporting the next generation of talent in India and look forward to working with them and offering unique career development, networking and promotion on a global stage,” said Amanda Berry OBE, Chief Executive at BAFTA, whose initiative is supported by Netflix.

Mira Nair

Image courtesy of (File photos).

Share this post