RCHS gives first ‘Excellence in Presidency Award’ to Nilima Madan

By SATimes Team 

Port Washington, NY: The Rotary Club of Hicksville South (RCHS) held its 12th Anniversary and Appreciation Gala on June 30th at the prestigious Manhasset Bay Yacht Club in Port Washington.

A highlight of the event attended by over 150 RCHS members, office-bearers, dignitaries and prominent community members was the presentation of the surprise ‘Excellence in Presidency Award (2011-2021)’ to the outgoing President, Nilima Madan. In her Presidency she tenaciously continued charitable projects, added new ones and held programs by organizing events amid the pandemic and restrictions in place keeping the team motivated and working together.

The club’s very first ‘Excellence in Presidency Award’ to Nilima Madan was presented by RCHS Charter President and Past District Governor Kamlesh C. Mehta and Past President Dave Vyas Sharma in the presence of NYS Senator Kevin Thomas.

Nilima Madan presented a check of $13,000 collected during a fundraiser by the club in May for Gift of Life India to Ravishankar Bhooplapur, who is Chair of the GOL charity in India that saves children’s lives by paying for their heart surgeries. He is also Past District Governor who chartered RCHS.

Madan passed on the Bell and Gavel to 2021-22 RCHS President Ashok Varshney, a garment entrepreneur. Varshney and the new executive team were sworn in by Senator Thomas.  In his acceptance speech, Varshney said that besides continuing with the existing projects of RCHS, he will take up new initiatives in healthcare and education. His team includes Rizwan Qureshi as President-Elect, Gobind Munjal – Project Service Director, Dr Jay Sarkar – Secretary, Shashi Malik – Sergeant-at-Arms, Vice Presidents – Arjen Bathija and Mizan Rahman, and Tahira Sharif – Treasurer.

The RCHS honors for 2020-21 included Leadership Excellence Awards to Nassau County Executive Laura Curran and Senator Thoams, Lifetime Achievement Award to Roopam Maini – Past President, Bansi Shah Memorial Award to HAB Bank – Rizwan Qureshi for most donations to RCHS during the past year, and Cap/Grand Piano Clock to Arjen Bathija. Token recognition gifts were presented to those who contributed $1000+ in the past year to RCHS.   

The annual souvenir of RCHS was released at the event. Who’s who of the local community were there, including former president of Tamil Sangham, Kanchana and Jagadeesan Poola, Sam Jain of CheapOair, Surendra Rametra, Dan Alter, Elaine Phillips and eminent attorney Jaspreet Mayall. Rishab Rikhiram gave sitar presentation. 

The gala concluded with a sumptuous dinner that included Indian food from Rajbhog and sweets from Nilima Goyal.


Image courtesy of (Photo: RCHS)

Share this post