SAGA hosts successful 18th edition of championship

Blue skies, with few floating clouds, 70-degree temperature with crisp cool air is something every golfer wishes for and the 18th edition of “Persistent SAGA Open 2022” was played at Forsgate Country Club in Monroe, NJ in such blessed conditions on September 24th. 72 Golfers after an appetizing lunch teed off simultaneously in early Fall afternoon. Tour members after playing seven regular rounds and one playoff round competed for first, second and third place in three different flights of “Persistent SAGA Tour” and for the overall Anish Joshi Memorial Trophy. Members and guests alike competed for multiple contests with cash prizes. Continuing the tradition of inviting inspiring golfers and role models, Ami Gianchandani a Watchung, NJ native graced the evening dinner and awards ceremony. Ami, a senior majoring in Statistics and Data Science at Yale University has earned Ivy League Player of the Year honors every year since she joined Yale and is the highest-ranked player in Yale team history. Ami was NJ State Women’s Amateur Champion in 2021 and played in the Women’s US Open in August 2022.  

Persistent Systems came on board in 2022 as a Title Sponsor for both SAGA Tour and SAGA Open. Persistent Systems ( is a global solutions company and is a trusted Digital Engineering and Enterprise Modernization partner for global market leaders across Industries. 

Amit Parekh shot 77, the lowest gross score of the day and in the process won the Flight 1 Championship and the overall Anish Joshi Memorial Trophy. Winners in different flights were as follows. Flight 1: Amit Parekh, Deep Thapliyal, Varun Malhotra. Flight 2: Niraj Desai, Sanjay Seth, Deepak Chandrashekhar. Flight 3: Paresh Desai, Daljit Behl, Cress Dominic. Other winners include highest Stableford points Mahesh Patel (44); most improved golfer Ram Ganesan; Closest to the pin: Sachin Mally, Niraj Desai, Kamal Ukey, Arafat Hakim; Straightest Drive: Raminder (Mickey) Sethi; Longest Drive: Roshan Kumar; Low Gross Score: Amit Parekh(77), Rajesh Moorjani (78).

The day ended with an awards ceremony in the Highland Ballroom with live music played by RUDE (Rutgers University Dhol Effect).

With the help of Dr. Anil and Mrs. Anju Joshi, SAGA is entering its 5th year of SAGA Junior Scholarship which is awarded to college-bound students who have demonstrated their love of golf while excelling academically. This year’s Junior Scholarship winners are Ojas Chaudhary, Deven Seth, Shiv Manhas & Rithvik Reddy.

SAGA was formed by Mahesh Yadav in 2005 and is supported by board members Vinay Bahuguna, Paresh Desai, Uday Patel, Sanjay Seth and Pir Mohammed (honorary board member). 

Ami Gianchandani felicitated by SAGA President Mahesh Yadav

Image courtesy of Provided

Share this post