Six-party alliance Zoram People’s Movement wins Mizoram assembly election, setback for CM Zoramthanga’s MNF

The Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) won the assembly election in Mizoram on Monday morning, touching 21 of the 40 seats, the Election Commission (EC) data showed. The ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) was leading in 10 seats, the BJP in three and the Congress in one, it said. Deputy CM Tawnluia lost to ZPM candidate W Chhuanawma in the Tuichang seat by a margin of 909 votes. Chief minister Zoramthanga lost the Aizawl East-1 seat to ZPM’s Lalthansanga after three rounds of counting.

Image courtesy of Hindustan Times

Share this post