‘The White Lotus’, ‘Squid Game’ win top honors at Emmys

At the 74th annual Television Academy Awards, hosted by Kenan Thompson, ‘Succession’ was named an Outstanding Drama Series, ‘Ted Lasso’ took the prize for Comedy, while ‘The White Lotus’ won in Limited or Anthology category.

‘Ted Lasso’ starring Jaosn Sudeikis was in competition with ‘Abbott Elementary’, ‘Barry’, ‘Curb Your Enthusiasm’, ‘Hacks’, ‘The Marvelous Mrs Maisel’, ‘Only Murders in the Building’ and ‘What We Do in the Shadows’ in the Comedy series category.

The series follows Ted Lasso, an American college football coach who is hired to coach an English soccer team in an attempt by its owner to spite her former husband. Lasso tries to win over the skeptical English market with his folksy, optimistic demeanor while dealing with his inexperience in the sport.

‘Dopesick’, ‘The Dropout’, ‘Inventing Anna’, and ‘Pam and Tommy’ lost to ‘The White Lotus’ in the Limited or Anthology Series section.

Originally intended as a six-part limited, ‘The White Lotus’ is an American comedy-drama anthology series. It follows the guests and employees of the fictional White Lotus resort chain, whose stay becomes affected by their various dysfunctions. The first season is set in Hawaii and the second season will be set in Sicily.

‘Succession’, which was nominated against shows such as ‘Better Call Saul’, ‘Euphoria’, ‘Ozark’, ‘Severance’, ‘Squid Game’, ‘Stranger Things’ and ‘Yellowjackets’, picked up the trophy for Drama Series.

‘Succession’ centers on the Roy family, the dysfunctional owners of Waystar RoyCo, a global media and entertainment conglomerate, who are fighting for control of the company amid uncertainty about the health of the family’s patriarch, Logan Roy.

Zendaya became the first Black woman to win lead actress in a drama series.

Actors Jason Sudeikis, Lee Jung-jae & Zendaya win big

Netflix’s ‘Squid Game’ star Lee Jung-jae became the first Asian actor to ever win lead actor in a drama series, and the fourth Asian person ever to win an acting Emmy, while ‘Euphoria’ star Zendaya became the first Black woman to win lead actress in a drama series and the youngest two-time winner of any Emmy in history.

‘Hacks’ star Jean Smart won outstanding actress in a comedy series for the HBO Max show, and ‘Ted Lasso’ star Jason Sudeikis once again took top honor for actor in a comedy series.

Amanda Seyfried garnered lead actress in a limited series for her portrayal of Theranos founder Elizabeth Holmes in ‘The Dropout’, and fan-favorite ‘The White Lotus’ actress Jennifer Coolidge won for supporting actress in a limited series.

On the acting side the honors were given to Michael Keaton for lead actor in a limited series for ‘Dopesick’ and Murray Bartlett for the supporting honor in that category for ‘The White Lotus’.

Matthew Macfadyen was honored for his supporting role in ‘Succession’, for which he was previously nominated in 2020 but did not land the win.

Image courtesy of (Photo courtesy: [email protected])

Share this post