UP election: Opinion poll predicts comfortable win for BJP

New Delhi: The BJP is set to comfortably win the assembly election in Uttar Pradesh making Yogi Adityanath the first chief minister serve two consecutive terms since 1985, an opinion poll conducted by VETO for Times Now Navbharat has predicted.

According to the survey, the BJP might end up bagging 230-249 seats in the 403-member House while the Samajwadi Party is likely to bag 137-152 seats. The Bahujan Samaj Party, which bagged 19 seats in the 2017 assembly polls, is projected to win anywhere between 9-14 seats. On the other hand, Congress is expected to face another poll debacle with the survey predicting just 4-7 seats for the party.

The survey falls in line with other pre-poll surveys which have predicted a smooth victory for the BJP but at the cost of a major seat share which will come as a direct gain for the Samajwadi Party.

For the BJP, while the Adityanath-led government’s claim of revamping the law and order situation and the development works done in Kashi, Mathura and Varanasi seem to have worked in its favor, the issues of Lakhimpur Kheri violence, the second COVID-19 wave, and the farmers’ protest might cause a substantial dent to its image.

Further, Yogi Adityanath was the favored chief ministerial candidate for 52 percent of the respondents, followed by Akhilesh Yadav (32 percent), Mayawati (13 percent), and Priyanka Gandhi (2.2 percent).

Image courtesy of (Photo courtesy: moneycontrol.com)

Share this post