ASEI honors eight at 33rd annual virtual convention

American Society of Engineers of Indian Origin (ASEI) hosted the 33rd Annual National Convention focusing on Global Engineering & Technologies (GET-2020). This virtual convention held on December 5th and 6th, 2020 honored eight outstanding achievers and those who contributed to ASEI growth and the society at large.

The ASEI Lifetime Achievement Award went to Naveen Jain, CEO, Viome and Chairman, Moon Express. The ASEI Entrepreneur of the Year was conferred upon Jyoti Bansal, Serial entrepreneur and a Silicon Valley technology visionary

ASEI outstanding achievers awardees
(L to R): Naveen Jain, Jyoti Bansal, Prof. D. Yogi Goswami and Deval Desai

Engineer of the Year Award in Mechanical/Solar Energy was given to Prof. D. Yogi Goswami, Ph.D., PE, Distinguished University Professor and Director of the Clean Energy Research Center at the University of South Florida and in Product Engineering and Operations Management – Deval Desai, Vice President & India Country Head, Magna International

ASEI also honored four others for their dedicated service to ASEI.

service to Asei
(L to R): Rakesh Patel, Vatsala Upadhayay, Rakesh Guliani and Sunita Dublish

ASEI Service Excellence Award – Rakesh Patel, Former President and Current Treasurer, ASEI; Hari Bindal ASEI Founders Award – Vatsala Upadhyay, ASEI Michigan President and Leadership and Contribution to ASEI – Rakesh Guliani and Sunita Dublish , ASEI Silicon Valley Chapter

ASEI President Jwalant Lakhia said, “ASEI is very pleased to recognize all awardees for their dedication, hard work, and exemplary contribution in their respective fields. We plan to continue with our annual tradition of acknowledging those who have made outstanding contributions in Technology and Engineering and those who have done extraordinary work to support ASEI”

The convention had multiple interactive sessions led by deep subject matter experts providing information and insight on many topics related to the convention theme. Speakers included Viome CEO Naveen Jain, Palo Alto Networks Senior VP Anand Oswal, Prof. Solomon Darwin of UC Berkeley-Haas Center for Corporate Innovation, Halliburton Chief Data-Scientist Dr Satyam PriyadarshySurbhi Kaul, GM & Head of Product, Juniper NetworksSpace & Robotics Scientist Dr Sreeja NagEclipz Chief Information Security Officer Matthew Rosenquist, Thermo Fisher Scientific VP & CTO Manoj Prasad, Vice President and Global CTO, Autodesk  Chief Information Officer Prakash Kota, IBM Fellow Rama AkkirajuMagna International  VP Deval DesaiSBD Automotive North America Director Jeffrey HannahMcKinsey & Company Associate Director Akshay Desai and Quantum Computing VP Robert Sutor.

The convention was put together by ASEI President Jwalant Lakhia along with Convention Co-chairs Rakesh Patel and Bhavesh Joshi. ASEI Board Member Dr. Thomas Abraham served as Awards Committee Chair.

Image courtesy of .

Share this post